Dance Hall Pimps

Created in February 2009 by Americana & Blues singer/songwriter RJ Comer and guitarist Jeff Jourard (formerly of The Motels), the Dance Hall Pimps started out as a show band in the LA underground cabaret scene where they played original music and covers, bending genres from rootsy swamp garage rock, to New Orleans-inspired rags and romps, to horror-theme goth cabaret.

Lakeshore Records (Lakeshore Entertainment) signed the Dance Hall Pimps in 2010. The band’s debut album, “Beast for Love”, was released in March 2012. The album was produced by Grammy Winner Matt Hyde (Porno for Pyros, Cypress Hill) and Rob Hill (Korn, Soul Assassins, Xzibit, Wu-Tang Clan, Cypress Hill, Queen, Jackson Browne). Beast for Love featured the eclectic range of sounds characteristic of the band’s underground cabaret repertoire.

With their second release, “The Dead Don’t Walk”, the band settled solidly into a blues rock sound and left behind the horror novelty and eclecticism that characterized their first LP. The band expanded their 5 regular players to include two “Key Players”–making the regular performing band 7 players. “The Dead Don’t Walk” was released on Growling Moon Records.


The Dead Don't Walk

Nov 05, 2013